I’ve Got The Joy…

When I was a little girl, I remember singing that song, “I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy, down in my heart.”  It was such a cheerful tune and lighted up my soul as I sang along with all my friends and we clapped our hands in the happiness of the moment.  Can you recall a time like that in your life, when your face hurt because you were smiling  so hard, but you just couldn’t stop?  Or has time erased some of what was once so easy to bring to mind?  It isn’t hard these days to lose sight of our inner child, the one who craves the simple sound of a song.  So here, I hope you’ll find a pocket full of joy to fill your day with just enough of that tune to see you through whatever is your need.  Stop for a moment.  Breathe deeply.  And soon, you may be singing of joy as well.

25 thoughts on “I’ve Got The Joy…

  1. I used to like that song a lot too. I’m probably not as joyful on the whole these days as the child that used to sing that but I still have days on a fairly frequent basis where my face hurts from too much smiling or laughing so think that inner joy continues to lurk within me, I just need to figure out how to unleash it a bit more.

    Like

    1. I appreciate your nomination, and I tried to accept, but as I was trying to work out some of the bugs, I got sick and ended up in the hospital! But thanks, anyway! It’s an honor just to have been nominated by you!

      Like

  2. This is so full of love that I cannot not follow!! I am a mum of two monkeys myself and will love to read your posts. Feel invited to check my blog out and maybe follow! 🙂

    Like

  3. I grew up with a church in my grandparents yard, a stone throw from our porch, and we sang the joy song in church. One other tune, I still recall was “deep and wide”, and using your hands to animate deep and wide, and the joy I felt back in those days has never been forgotten.

    Like

  4. I know that song! I remember hearing it on Christian radio and at first I didn’t like it, probably because I wasn’t happy and then suddenly it changed and every time I heard I was singing along with it and I love it now! It really does fill you with joy!

    Like

  5. I was just thinking earlier today about now many of my happiest memories are from childhood. Not that there haven’t been some positive times in my adult years, but they just do not resonate within me like those experiences from 40 or even 50 years ago.

    Like

  6. I remember that song! 🙂 I guess the times in my life when my face hurt because of smiling and laughing so hard was when I was a child with my friends. It is a shame that isn’t such a rare occurrence as you get older. I need to rectify this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

