Share Your World – 2014 Week 44

What is your most vivid memory of the kitchen in your childhood?

Our kitchen was pink. My mother’s favorite color was red and I suppose that was as close to red as she could get in kitchen design back in suburbia 1958. But my most vivid memory was that there were these violet and fuchsia chevrons etched into the formica laminate countertop. I remember thinking that they looked like tiny boomerangs.

As a child, who was your favorite relative?

My Aunt Margie. Aunt Margie and Uncle John were really the only relatives we knew, and they were as old as most grandparents were, but she came down every summer, and they sent us our Christmas presents wrapped in the year’s worth of Sunday comics from the newspaper. The ones printed in color! That was a real treat to us. I think we remember the comics more than the presents!

What did you or did not most like about the first apartment you ever rented?

I loved that it was mine! That nobody could tell me what to do or when to do it. I could “play house” only in a grown-up way. Granted, I was responsible, and I was responsible. I worked and paid my rent and went to school. But nothing beat that feeling of freedom.

What kind of TV commercial would you like to make? Describe it.

This one is tough for me, since I don’t watch TV and haven’t for about 2 years now. I don’t even like most movies. I’d rather read and write. I find I have a much more vivid imagination than what anyone can put on film.

What am I grateful for from last week and what am I looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful for the nurse and physical and occupational therapists who have been coming out to help me after my hospital stay, and I am looking forward to learning how to work my smartphone camera and better my blog on Photography 101 and Blogging 101, as well as continue with the Share Your World blog posts.

2 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2014 Week 44

Leave a Reply

