Salad Days

Was there a day when life was good, a day to be looked back on as better than it is today?

Not in my life. This is as good as it gets. My life has not been an easy one, due in part to the fact that you couldn’t tell me anything. I already knew it all. And to my credit, I did know a lot…enough to get me to where I am today. Still, despite my brains, I was defiant in my own way. I got married to the wrong person when I was way  too young, wouldn’t listen to anyone but my heart, not even my head. Dropped out of high school halfway through my senior year because I was bored. And I was already in “Who’s Who in America’s High School Students in 1972” and I was throwing all that away. To say I was stubborn is an understatement.

But I had to learn so much along the way.

Perhaps I never would have learned those lessons any other way. Like how to be responsible for paying the rent, and that comes before food. And being a mother is more, much more than buying baby clothes and teaching him to say, “Mama.” No, you stay awake night after night, patting his back because it’s the only way he will sleep. And when he turns 7 and starts running away from home, you lie awake night after night, wondering where he is and praying to God with all that is in you, begging through your tears that he will be alright, that he will come home safely.

No, if I have any “Salad Days” they would have to be today.

For all those issues have been dealt with. I have grown up. Both my boys are in a much better place now. I have no mortgage, I am married to the love of my life (who treasures me beyond belief). I am settled, joyous and free. What more could I dream that I don’t already have?

What are you grateful for?

Leave a Reply

