Joy in Remembering

Tonight is a special night. You see, today is National Children’s Memorial Day, and tonight we light candles in memory of our children.
It starts on the east coast of the United States at 7 pm and goes for an hour, picking up in central time as the east coast winds down, and then to mountain time and Pacific time, and continuing each hour all around the world, so that for 24 hours, a continuous light shines around the world for our children. Amazing, isn’t it? And I have two little lights who shine among the untold millions of children whose lives were cut short, or at least seeming so to their parents and loved ones.
My advice to you? Let them have their day. They have so little. Share it with them. Let them know they don’t walk alone. Be their friend. Be their light.

image

I light a candle in your name to show the world your light still shines in me+
I share my fears to ease the pain of my broken heart, my broken family
And I offer understanding, lending comfort where I may.
As I shed my tears of sorrow I reach out and light a candle in your name.
As I shed my tears of sorrow I reach out and light a candle in your name.

Be a Pocketful of Joy to fill someone’s day today.

I Light A Candle copyright Betty Horn 1996

3 thoughts on “Joy in Remembering

  1. What a beautiful thing to do, thank you for sharing I had never heard of this special way to memorialize children that have left us. I am sorry for the losses you have suffered- you inspire with your blog and through your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

