Resolutions

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “To Be Resolved.”

What did I resolve to do?

I don’t remember. I usually make resolutions sometime in October or November, some arbitrary day that has no particular meaning to it, and my resolutions aren’t for the year. They are more specific to what I am working on at the moment. If I am trying to outline a new book, it may be setting a deadline. If I am working on my blog, I might brainstorm possible topics for my posts, and need to set aside time to organize them.

So what is left to be resolved?

Only what is in front of me. I heard a man once say that you always die with your in-basket full. I resolve to keep my in-basket at a manageable level simply by taking care of the task at hand, and then everything else will take care of itself. I don’t spend too much time thinking about what the future might hold, and making resolutions that I know I’ll forget three months down the road seems pointless to me. I like taking care of today. After all, today is all we really have.

A Pocketful of Joy to Fill Your Day

4 thoughts on “Resolutions

  1. Keeping your in-basket at a manageable level is very wise, Betty. It’s all too easy to become overwhelmed by the number of seemingly endless tasks to be done. Stress does no one any good at all. I love your phrase, ‘I like taking care of today’, and will try to follow your lead in that in future.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

