Grown Up Joy

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “All Grown Up.

It was when I first looked into those beautiful eyes of blue.

Of course, you knew you had me from the moment we first met. How could I resist? Your innocence unarmed me. You had a pureness about you that I found so rare in the male members of the human race. And that smile of yours lit up the night!

And then, when I first held you in my arms, I don’t believe there was a more tender moment in all time.

You were so fiercely independent, yet unashamedly dependent on me and my love for you. How could I help but love you?

cropped-cropped-young-james-and-junior2.jpg

Yes, the first time I really felt grown up, was when I held you, my babies, in my arms! 

How has your mother’s love helped you to live your life joyfully?

A Pocketful of Joy to Fill Your Day

2 thoughts on “Grown Up Joy

  1. A lovely, heartfelt piece of writing, Betty. A mother’s love is a truly wonderful thing. I still think of my own mother on most days, even now, and she passed away almost twenty years ago. She taught me how to love, and the importance of it in our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, I learned of unconditional love from my mother, as well. But it was my boys who taught me the other side of that coin. Isn’t it interesting the line of connection between mother and child, and child and mother, from generation to generation?!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

