Songs of Joy

When I was about 12 years old, I thought I discovered a hymn. I fell in love with this piece and went around the house singing it (possibly) to distraction.

Then one day, my mother told me it didn’t bother her that I sang the song all the time, because it was one her own mother used to sing around her house all the time!

This was a grandmother whom I never knew. My siblings all knew her, but I was the baby of the family and she died before I had the chance.

After that,  I sang the hymn with abandon. Not only was I doing what I loved most, which was to sing praises to my Savior, Jesus Christ, but I felt a connection with a grandmother whom I had only previous vague reminders of at best.  And the hymn?

Blessed Assurance

Blessed Assurance

Jesus is mine!

Oh, What a foretaste

Of Glory Divine!

Heir of Salvation

Purchase of God

Born of His Spirit

Washed in His Blood!

This is my story, this is my song!

Praising my Savior all the day long!

This is my story, this is my song!

Praising my Savior all the day long!

What songs of joy do you have to sing about? What family treasures come to you through the gift of song?

A Pocketful of Joy to Fill Your Day

10 thoughts on “Songs of Joy

  1. I couldn’t wait to get to what hymn it was. Blessed Assurance is one that I learned as a child, as well. We sing congregational hymns at the church I belong to in Houston. And it always reminds me of home. My mother accompanied my siblings and me on piano when we sang at churches around the city. I remember the first song she taught me, at the age of 3. It was, “In the Garden.”

    I come to the Garden alone, while the dew is still on the roses.
    And the voice I hear falling on my ear
    The Son of God discloses.
    And He walks with me. And He talks with me.
    And He tells me I am His own.
    And the joys we share as we tarry there
    None other has ever known.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Miss Donna, you and I are sharing the same memories! My mother taught me and my sisters to sing in 5 part harmony, and she would arrange the music. We would sing at the hospitals and nursing homes around town, especially for Christmas. In The Garden brings back sweet memories. My mother has been gone now for going on 45 years…

      Like

Leave a Reply

