The Gospel Brings Me Joy

Today I had the privilege of attending Church. For those of you who don’t know, I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Most people know us by Mormons. And yes, I am a Christian. My Church is named for Him!
The main purpose we have for meeting with the saints each week is to partake of the Sacrament for repentance and the renewal of our baptismal covenants. Other Christian organizations may call this the Lord’s Supper, or Communion.
And what are our baptismal covenants? That we are willing to take upon us the name of Christ and always remember Him, and keep His commandments.
Everything else we do centers around this. And why do we do this? Are we not forgiven if we simply proclaim Jesus as our Savior?
He said for us to be baptized. (see John 3:5) Through the Apostle Paul, we are also
called to repent. (see 1Corinthians 5:7) There are many more scriptures I could quote, but my point is that we all have cause to repent daily, perhaps even by the minute.
And so, I would like to leave you with a quote from President Ezra Taft Benson, 13th President of the Church, “For those who pay the price required by true repentance, the promise is sure. You can be clean again. The despair can be lifted. The sweet peace of forgiveness will flow into your lives.”
I know this is true because I have lived it…on both sides. I now strive to repent daily, hourly, sometimes by the minute. That’s why it was such a privilege to meet with the saints today.

Is there a question about my Church you have that I can help you with?

A Pocketful of Joy to Fill Your Day

Leave a Reply

