Joy In The Midst Of Pain

Have you ever had one of those days where you woke up and everything is right with your world, but you are in excruciating pain anyway?
I have nothing to complain about. For the moment, my life is as perfect as it has ever been.
Still, this morning, I woke up with an odd pain, a gripping, electrical pain that wraps around my torso and won’t let go. It comes on at every movement, so I have to play snail in order to get around. Any sudden move brings on an unintended scream, so I try to plan these things out. Very tiring.
And as if that wasn’t enough, halfway through breakfast, I began to get a migraine headache. So, now that I have that somewhat under control, I am lying in bed and typing out this post on my phone.
Where does the joy enter in to all this, you may ask?
To begin with, the fact that I have a means to control the pain. I have had to go to the emergency room for shots to ease the pain of the migraines before. Now, I have medication, but even better than that, I use do TERRA essential oils to help. The Deep Blue really does a number on them. And the result is almost immediate!
Also, the fact that I can take the time to lie in bed and recover. Few people have that luxury. Until I married my husband, I didn’t.
And I can’t say enough about my husband. He cooks because he wants to, he does the laundry because it needs to be done, (fortunately, I’m well enough that this chore is now a team effort) he does the grocery shopping because the Whole Foods store is on his way home from work. (I do the big box shopping with him at BJ’s.) And his attitude is that he’d have to do these things anyway, if he was by himself. What a man! Isn’t it any wonder that I love him?
And there’s the joy – love. Love is selfless, it is kind and gentle, it is joyous!
Are you feeling pain in your life? I challenge you to find the joy. Do you know of someone who is suffering? I challenge you to love that person. Help that person. Become the love. Become the joy.

A Pocketful of Joy to Fill Your Day

21 thoughts on “Joy In The Midst Of Pain

  1. I’m glad you do have effective pain relief, Betty. The pains you describe would be very hard to live with otherwise.The shots for the migraines are obviously vital, but I didn’t realise that essential oils had such a powerful effect. Look after yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I was at a conference and I noticed a woman take out a little bottle and put a drop on her neck. That scent just perfumed the air–I had to find out what it was. Been a believer ever since!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Such an inspiring post. I love the become the love and joy. U sound so good, especially reading how your overcoming in spite of intense paIn and your hubby sounds like a good man but I think that you are both so blessed to have each other. Thank you for sharing and posting, it was very special.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful post. I too use essential oils, a lot rather. Very healing. Lavender and Juniper for aches and pains.
    A helpful hubby is of course a blessing. My husband has to be away from our city all too often. It’s always been like that as a part of his job requirement. But when he is around he does all the shopping and of course helps around in many different ways. But these days I get too tired carrying heavy loads of groceries.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

