Missing You; A Pocketful of Memories

Today is the 45th anniversary of the death of my mother. There is so much weight in that sentence. I feel it heavily on my shoulders, constricting my chest. How I wish I could find the words to ease this pressure, to allow its escape from my heart!
But then I remember the years in which such love was ingrained within my soul by the very cause of my grief, and I ask myself, “Would I have it any other way?”
Of course, the answer is no. I wouldn’t trade you for all the grief and pain in the world! Not for all the riches in the universe.
For you ARE my riches! You ARE my foundation. You are my best friend. You taught me enough about life to survive, and then you trusted me to do the job.
It’s been so long. I’ve grown up. I’ve grown old. I’ve missed you so much! I wish you could have been along for the ride.
But then again, maybe you have been.

Who have you been missing today?

A Pocketful of Memories to Fill Your Day

8 thoughts on “Missing You; A Pocketful of Memories

  1. You’re lucky to have spent such wonderful time with your mother. I’m sure she’s still smiling.

    My family isn’t so tight knit, and there hasn’t been anyone that close to me that I’ve lost. My parents are both alive and well, for sure. I miss Robin Williams though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

