Walking – A Source of Joy 

Walking at Walmart. 

I love to walk and, since it’s so hot, we’re walking in the air-conditioning of Walmart. For those who don’t know, I have had four strokes and there were times I could not walk at all. So I’m grateful for my legs, for my balance (although I still need a walker or some other aid – like hubby!) and for my strength to walk. 

When I was little, I hated walking, because my mom didn’t drive and we had to walk everywhere! On the way to a laundromat (because our washer was broken), I told her that my shoes hurt. She knew I wanted her to carry me, but in her lovingly sarcastic manner, she told me to take them off. Needless to say, I didn’t get picked up, and I didn’t take my shoes off, either. Pavement isn’t kind on little feet, and in Florida, it gets quite hot! 


Walking at Winn Dixie 

But now that I’m older and, hopefully, a little wiser, I have learned to appreciate what God blessed me with. And if I don’t use my legs, my muscles will atrophy. What a tragedy it would be if I wasted such a gift. How many people are there who wish they could walk? I would be such an ungrateful person! 

So I walk. And love it. I love being able to get out and about. I love doing my own grocery shopping. I love to meet and greet people. And I hate having to depend on hubby more than necessary. I don’t ever want him to think I don’t appreciate him. 


A bit blurry, but check out my walking shoes!

What kind of exercise do you like? How do you appreciate your gift of mobility? 

A Pocketful of Joy to Fill Your Day 

6 thoughts on “Walking – A Source of Joy 

  1. I love how positive your attitude is- thank you for sharing it and reminding us to be thankful. I do love your walking shoes- I noticed them in the first photo- they look great! I love both photos of you. I love to walk and head out every morning to do so! Love you smile Betty! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

