Happy Birthday in Heaven 9/17/2016

My son was born at 10:01 a.m. forty years ago today.

I hope this image shows up, because it’s a photo of him just 6 months before his death. I’m having a little trouble, and I don’t know what the final product will look like.


I know that God has seen me through my tough times. I also know that Junior is still around. I feel him beside me in my car, next to my pillow at night.


This sums up how I feel today. A line in an Emmy Lou Harris song, Boulder to Birmingham, says, “The hardest part is knowing I’ll survive.” How true! I couldn’t conceive of living for a year without my Junior. And now it’s been over 25! 


Junior, I love you and miss you so tremendously. You were my life, my laughter, my greatest joy and my greatest pain. But you never wanted to hurt anyone. I guess it wasn’t in the plan for you to live long. But you lived long enough to teach me how to love. 

This is the BIG 4-0! So even though I’m not there to celebrate it with you, Happy Birthday in Heaven.

Until we meet again…

Who are you missing today?

A Pocketful of Joy to Fill Your Day

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday in Heaven 9/17/2016

  1. Junior’s picture

    I just wanted to let you know, your picture of Junior did not make it to your blog. But, your feelings came through very clear! I can’t go on because I am getting ready to go to Church! I love you more than I can express!!! Connie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

