Wellness Wednesday, April 25, 2017

I began my journey to health because I was so sick, I needed to find some way to relieve my pain and suffering. 

Before I started, I had 4 strokes, 3 back surgeries, and had broken my back 3 times. I was, as the cliché goes, sick and tired of being sick and tired. 

I first tried a paleo diet, but it nearly killed me. I began to lose so much weight,  and my doctor told me I was dying of severe malnutrition. So he put me on enzymes. That helped a little, but I still struggled to keep weight on. 

Then I took things into my own hands. I took myself off all my medication except what I absolutely needed to live (it went from 19 to 2). I was afraid to tell my primary care doctor, but she said, “Good for you! “

Then hubby and I watched the documentary Forks Over Knives, and we went vegan the very next day. 

I can’t find the words to say what a difference it’s made. I am finally at a decent weight that I am able to maintain, and I feel so much better! 

I now do these things for myself. I eat whole food,  plant based, I exercise, even if it’s my physical therapy exercises, I drink 64 ounces of water (at least) a day (Zephyrhills is my favorite) and I try to look at the positive in life… Smell the roses (or at least take pictures of pretty flowers!) 

I’m now happy and well on my way to becoming healthy. I love my life! 

What do you do to be healthy? 

A Pocketful of Joy to Fill Your Day 

4 thoughts on “Wellness Wednesday, April 25, 2017

  1. I remember how ill you were, Betty, and that you lost so much weight. I didn’t realise that the diet had made you so ill, though. I’m really pleased that your health is so much better now and most of your
    different medicines aren’t necessary any more. That’s a great achievement on your behalf. I’d say you have every reason to be so happy and love your life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

